top of page

By Florian Gaite

Through autobiography and autofiction, Paul Garcin’s work draws from pop culture the forms of a critical discourse of the values it conveys. His performances, installations and videos deconstruct the misogyny of the industry, the reign of competitivity and cult of money by adopting the codes that allows advertising of it. Humorously addressing issues of gender, sexuality and self-representation, his works play with stereotypes to reveal their fictitious nature. Also, we can see him interpreting some of Beyonce’s most iconic postures, the archetype of the powerful and seductive woman, doing karaoke in the middle of the Texan desert or filming, between Miami and Menton, the video of a fictive duet with Queen B. This piece is integrated to a performed conference in which Paul Garcin switches from Beyonce’s Lemonade to Menton’s Lemon Festival, from the Chicano culture to Princess Stephanie of Monaco, leveling informations to deconstruct their hierarchies.

He presents several pieces inspired by his recent trip to Los Angeles, the epicenter of the American dream, which in his eyes has become the place of all disillusions. He films a young dancer he met on the walk of fame, unfortunate candidate for the success, facing the reality of his desires. His choreography echoes Paul Garcin’s performance Dancing on my own, in which he projects the capture. He adopts the same posture (mask and earphones on his ears) while dancing as if no one was looking at him. With Rizon Printz, the teenage bubble takes on a more dramatic sense of isolation, with the public no longer seeing the dancer’s art as anything more than an intimate refuge. Paul Garcin extends this bittersweet testimony with a video made in situ (...).In Welcome to L.A., the lyrics of a song are projected on the artist’s body while he sings them in playback. This lyrics-video, conceived on the model of karaoke clips, returns to the gap between his fantasies as a young man, crossing the Atlantic with glitter in his eyes, and the violence of the American social reality he finds himself confronted with. Ode to doubt and disappointment, ironically sung to a pop tune, the piece thus dilutes his dream of a success story in an incredulous and disenchanted statement.

 

Florian Gaité

Catalog Notice of the 13th Biennial of Young Creation

Florian Gaité
Anaïd Demir
FELICITA_2019_Paul Garcin.jpg

 

 

Text by Céline Enanga, about DANCING ON MY OWN #2

 

Paul Garcin is a young contemporary artist who graduated from the School of Fine Arts in Nantes. Exploring the fine line between the worlds of performance, theater and spectacle, he stages his own life by integrating numerous fictional elements linked to pop culture. Through an extravagant character with multiple identities, the artist addresses various themes associated with gender, sexuality and popular cultures, while integrating a note of humor.

In 2016, as part of the opening of the exhibition All tomorrow parties by Felix Thomas, Paul Garcin produced for the first time the mysterious performance Dancing on my own in which he danced for two hours to a playlist that he was the only one to hear. Headphones on his ears and a night mask on his eyes, the young artist begins a risky choreography among the spectators and imposes constraints on himself, testing his spatial references. In this way, he adopts a vulnerable position and solicits the physical interaction between his body and that of the visitor.

Several paradoxes arise. The conditions adopted by the performer imprison him in an internal world where he no longer really communicates with what surrounds him. This refusal to correspond with the other contradicts the exuberance of his gestures. The audience then becomes necessary: it helps to blur the boundary between the personal and the public. By his own presence, the artist instantly transforms the space where he chooses to perform this performance into a show stage. His excessive movements, straight out of a video clip, accentuate the theatrical side of his universe.

This work is a claimed homage to the Cuban artist Feliz Gonzalez-Torres and his work Untitled (Gogo dancing Platform) created in 1991. This installation is composed of a wooden platform lit by light bulbs. Presented in the gallery, it was designed with the idea of hosting occasional performances by gogo dancers. The latter are connected to a mobile phone by earphones and sway to electronic music. With this work, the artist questions our view of objects, others and what is shown within the gallery space. It also contains very strong questions concerning the gay community.

Paul Garcin chooses to borrow this process and divert it in order to put the issues of Gonzalez-Torres' work back in the spotlight. In this way, he also studies the different ways in which these questions have structured his intimate universe. The tragicomic dimension of his performance Dancing on my own highlights an important form of his approach: that of parody.

As part of the opening night of the Pride'N'Art festival in 2018, the young artist is preparing a new playlist and presenting the performance for the second time. Displaying the inscription "NAP QUEEN" on his night mask, this one reinforces the wacky side of his intervention and continues to divert the elements that make up our daily lives in order to exaggerate their features. Criticism through parody is a component that is particularly found in the LGBTQ artistic universe, whether it is music or contemporary art.

 

Celine Enanga.

Céline Enanga
bottom of page

Textes

Avec KimPetrasPaintings

Par Florian Gaité

Entre autobiographie et autofiction, le travail de Paul Garcin puise dans la pop culture les formes d’un discours critique sur les valeurs qu’elle véhicule. Ses performances, installations et vidéos déconstruisent ainsi la misogynie du milieu, le règne de la compétitivité et le culte de l’argent en adoptant les codes qui en permettent la publicité. Abordant avec humour les questions de genre, de sexualité ou de représentation de soi, ses œuvres jouent avec les stéréotypes pour en dévoiler le caractère factice. Aussi peut- on le voir interpréter les postures iconiques de Beyoncé, archétypes de la femme puissante et séductrice, faire du karaoké en plein désert texan ou à tourner, entre Miami et Menton, le clip d’un duo fictif avec Queen B. Ce dernier est intégré à une conférence performée dans laquelle Paul Garcin passe de l’album Lemonade à la fête du citron, des Chicanos à la Stéphanie de Monaco, nivelant les informations pour déconstruire leurs hiérarchies.

Il présente plusieurs pièces inspirées de son récent voyage à Los Angeles, épicentre de l’american dream, devenu à ses yeux le lieu de toutes les désillusions. Il y filme un jeune danseur rencontré sur le walk of fame, candidat malheureux au succès, confronté à la réalité de ses désirs. Sa chorégraphie fait écho la performance Dancing on my own de Paul Garcin dont il projette la captation. Il y adopte la même posture (masque et écouteurs sur les oreilles) en dansant sur des tubes comme si personne ne le regardait. La bulle adolescente prend avec Rizon Printz le sens d’un isolement plus dramatique, le public ne voyant plus dans l’art du danseur qu’un refuge intime. Paul Garcin prolonge ce témoignage doux-amer avec une vidéo réalisée in situ, accessible grâce à l’activation d’un QR code, mise en abîme d’une performance annulée. Dans Welcome to L.A., les paroles d’une chanson sont projetées sur le corps de l’artiste pendant qu’il les chante en playback. Cette lyrics-vidéo, conçue sur le modèle des clips de karaoké, revient sur le décalage creusé entre ses fantasmes de jeune homme, traversant l’Atlantique des paillettes dans les yeux, et la violence de la réalité sociale américaine à laquelle il se trouve confronté. Ode au doute et à la déception, ironiquement entonnée sur un air pop, le morceau dilue ainsi son rêve d’une success-story dans un constat incrédule et désenchanté.

 

Florian Gaité

Notice de Catalogue 

13ème Biennale de la Jeune Création

 
 
FELICITA_2019_Paul Garcin.jpg

 

 

Texte de Céline Enanga, à propos de DANCING ON MY OWN #2

 

Paul Garcin est un jeune artiste contemporain diplômé de l’École des Beaux arts de Nantes. Explorant la frontière infime entre les univers de la performance, du théâtre et du spectacle, il met en scène sa propre vie en y intégrant de nombreux éléments fictionnels liés à la pop culture. À travers un personnage extravagant aux identités multiples, l’artiste aborde différentes thématiques associées au genre, la sexualité et les cultures populaires, tout en y intégrant une note d’humour.

En 2016, dans le cadre du vernissage de l’exposition All tomorrow parties de Felix Thomas, Paul Garcin réalise pour la première fois la mystérieuse performance Dancing on my own dans laquelle il danse durant deux heures sur une playlist qu’il est le seul à entendre. Un casque audio sur les oreilles et un masque de nuit sur les yeux, le jeune artiste entame une chorégraphie hasardeuse parmi les spectateurs et s’impose des contraintes mettant à l’épreuve ses repères spatiaux. De cette façon, il adopte une position vulnérable et sollicite l’interaction physique entre son corps et celui du visiteur.

Plusieurs paradoxes se manifestent. Les conditions qu’adopte le performeur l’enferment dans un monde interne où il ne communique plus réellement avec ce qui l’entoure. Ce refus de correspondre avec l’autre entre en contradiction avec l’exubérance de ses gestes. L’auditoire devient alors nécessaire : celui-ci contribue à brouiller la frontière entre le personnel et le public. Par sa propre présence, l’artiste transforme instantanément l’espace où il choisit de réaliser cette performance en une scène de show. Ses mouvements excessifs, tout droit sortis d’un clip vidéo, accentuent le côté théâtral de son univers.

Ce travail est un hommage revendiqué à l’artiste cubain Feliz Gonzalez-Torres et à son œuvre Untitled (Gogo dancing Platform) créée en 1991. Cette installation est composée d’une plateforme en bois éclairée par des ampoules lumineuses. Présentée en galerie, elle a été conçue dans l’idée d’accueillir les performances ponctuelles de gogo dancers. Ces derniers sont connectés à un téléphone portable par des écouteurs et se déhanchent sur de la musique électronique. Avec ce travail, l’artiste questionne notre regard sur les objets, les autres et sur ce qui est montré au sein de l’espace de la galerie. Il renferme également des questions très fortes concernant la communauté gay.

Paul Garcin fait le choix d’emprunter ce procédé et de le détourner afin de remettre les problématiques du travail de Gonzalez-Torres au devant de la scène. Par là, il étudie également les différentes manières dont ces questions ont structuré son univers intime. La dimension tragi-comique de sa performance Dancing on my own met en lumière une forme importante de sa démarche : celle de la parodie.

Dans le cadre de la soirée d’ouverture du festival Pride’N’Art en 2018, le jeune artiste prépare une nouvelle playlist et présente la performance pour la seconde fois. Arborant l’inscription « NAP QUEEN » sur son masque de nuit, celui-ci renforce le côté loufoque de son intervention et continue de détourner les éléments qui composent notre quotidien afin d’en exagérer les traits. La critique par la parodie est une composante que l’on retrouve particulièrement dans l’univers artistique LGBTQ, qu’il s’agisse de la musique ou de l’art contemporain.

 

Céline Enanga.